• Mission

    To raise support and visibility for AVODAH, the Jewish Service Corps, while becoming an agent for social change over 3,100 miles of biking.

    DONATE HERE

    AVODAH is an organization that provides an opportunity for young people to engage in social justice work while fostering Jewish values. We Corps member live in an intentional Jewish community while engaging in work for social change.

  • Past posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other followers

Day 1

10pm, in the tent with all of our wet clothes hanging on the sides.
I didn’t get much sleep last night and when I finally did, I had gone through the emotions of sadness for leaving DC, intense doubt (was I really about to leave in under 8 hours to bike across the country?), and then extreme excitement.
I woke up at 6, looked out the window, and asked my host (and best roommate for the past year in the AVODAH house!) if it was the early morning sky or overcast. She assured me it was the early morning and I quickly finished packing. My send off was at 7:45 am from the JCC and at 7:15 am, we were standing at the door with our bikes fully loaded.
Not only did it begin to torrentially downpour like I have never before seen, the basement in the house where I was staying started to flood and I got a call from my friend Josh, that he was waiting at the JCC with the bagels and cream cheese. Check out this picture of us, ready to go except for the thunder and lightening just outside the house. We waited around for while, the storm passed, and we headed to the JCC, 30 minutes and ONE FLAT tire later.
Our first interaction with society was with Theo, a man who started taking pictures of us before we even reached the trailhead. I guess we were quite a spectacle! We stopped
Tearful departure, and JP, Alli and I were at the start of the Washington and Ohio trail. I read the Traveler’s prayer:
About midday, after a hearty lunch and many stretch breaks, the second storm of our day came and there was nowhere to take cover. We rode for an hour and a half, soaking every last bit of what we brought (except electronics like this cute little netbook which were in waterproof bags) and ended up stopping at a free camping site at mile marker 51 on the C&O Trail, about 10 miles short of Harper’s Ferry.
Hopefully there will be lighter rains or none at all…it is almost unfortunate that I have internet access on the road because the weather report says it is likely chance of thunder storms for the next 6 days!!! Ahh. Welcome to soggy clothes and pruney feet!

Leave a Reply

