• Mission

    To raise support and visibility for AVODAH, the Jewish Service Corps, while becoming an agent for social change over 3,100 miles of biking.

    DONATE HERE

    AVODAH is an organization that provides an opportunity for young people to engage in social justice work while fostering Jewish values. We Corps member live in an intentional Jewish community while engaging in work for social change.

  • Past posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other followers

Interaction from day one

I forgot to mention, even before we left DC last week, a gentleman started taking pictures of us as we crossed the street:

We stopped, as one might do if someone else was taking pictures of them and engaged in a conversation about our trip. Our only requirement if he was going to take random pictures of us, was that he would share them with us later:

Thanks Theo for your kind message:
August 15, 2010
Emma, I really enjoyed meeting you and your two trekking partners. Here is a great shot of you at New Hampshire and 20th.
I am an ardent Jewish environmentalist in Sacramento. Maybe I could send some updates of your trip to the Jewish community in Sacramento. Put me on your email list so that I know when you have posted something new on your website.
I am proud of your goal and your determination to cycle across America to publicize Avodah. Mazel tov and good health.
Shalom, Theo

2 Responses

  1. Hi!! you look fantastic in the pictures, very happy and enthusiastic.
    It´s amazing your strength and willpower to do this biking across the country!
    All my love and support to you all from argentina
    I’ll be watching you by the net.
    Monica Isaia

  2. Emma, this looks so great! I hope you’re staying dry and having fun. I’m living vicariously through your blog, and wishing I were biking with you guys!

    Michal

Leave a Reply

