• Mission

    To raise support and visibility for AVODAH, the Jewish Service Corps, while becoming an agent for social change over 3,100 miles of biking.

    DONATE HERE

    AVODAH is an organization that provides an opportunity for young people to engage in social justice work while fostering Jewish values. We Corps member live in an intentional Jewish community while engaging in work for social change.

  • Past posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 9 other followers

Rosh Ha’shanah

Rosh Ha’shanah, a new year, new beginnings Happy Jewish New Year!  In light of the New Year, one of the things we think about are what we are proud of during the past year and what we would have liked to change. For me, planning this journey can fulfill both of those purposes. I do not need to go into detail about how proud I am, above and beyond the fact that I always struggle to follow through on things, yet here I am, already in Nebraska, more than 1/3 done.

The last few days, as I am slightly out of the honeymoon phase of “being on the road,” I have started to process my loss, the great friends and people I made this past year living in DC and in participating in AVODAH. Although I do not regret the planning of the journey, a journey of this magnitude requires lots of thinking and planning and internet writing and contacting…In fact, during the last few months of AVODAH, I felt like I was Emma of CAIR Coalition, learning as much as I could about immigration law and visiting jails; and I felt like Emma of AVODAHcycle, constantly emailing, biking, learning about biking and fundraising. I did not live in the moment as much as I wish I had and I did not complete my list of things to do and see in DC, even after living there an entire year. Additionally, I feel that I did not foster certain friendships that could have become much deeper, since I was distracted with future plans.

It is equally important to be prepared as it is to take time to enjoy the moment, to complete one task before the next one begins.

Happy New year.

One Response

  1. Emma –

    Just wanted to say how awesome I think you’re doing! Keep it up! I love reading about your journey .. good luck in the next 2/3’s of the trip 🙂

    Miss you!
    Maria

Leave a Reply

